Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

2024 Election

Flagler Tiger Bay Club Holding Candidate Meet & Greet, Straw Poll

The turnout at a 2021 candidate forum hosted at the community center. ⓒ AskFlagler

The Flagler Tiger Bay Club has announced it will be hosting a meet and greet and straw poll with candidates in the 2024 local election cycle later this month. The event will take place on the evening of Thursday, June 27th. Candidates will be attending who are in contention for offices at the city, county, state, federal level, and they’ll be available for attendees to question them on their credentials, stances, and preparedness to serve.

Alongside the meet and greet, there will also be a straw poll being conducted by the Flagler County Supervisor of Elections Office, with results available on their website when voting ends. This will provide the community with a first look at where the politically-engaged constituency stands on the current field of candidates.


“As a nonpartisan organization, Flagler Tiger Bay Club is excited to host this important event for both voters and community stakeholders,” said Tiger Bay Club President Jay Scherr. “This will be an excellent opportunity to meet, engage with, and learn about the candidates who want to govern and shape the future of our local communities.”The event will take place at the Palm Coast Community Center (305 Palm Coast Parkway NE, Palm Coast, FL) from 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm, and will be free for all to attend. Food from Chick-Fil-A will be available for purchase.

The current field of local candidates is as follows, as listed on the state and local elections websites. Not all candidates listed here may be in attendance at Tiger Bay’s meet and greet.

U.S. Congress, District 6

  • Richard Dembinsky (Write-in)
  • John Grow (Republican)
  • James Stockton III (Democrat)
  • Michael Waltz (Republican, incumbent)

Florida Senate, District 7

  • Michael Gist (NPA)
  • George Hill II (Democrat)
  • Gerry James (Republican)
  • Tom Leek (Republican, incumbent)

Florida House of Representatives, District 19

  • Darryl Boyer (Republican)
  • Sam Greco (Republican)
  • Adam Morley (Democrat)
  • Matthew Nellans (Republican)
  • James St. George (Republican)

Board of County Commissioners

District 1:

  • Andy Dance (Republican, incumbent)
  • Fernando Melendez (Republican)

District 3:

  • Kim Carney (Republican)
  • Jaiden Chavez (Republican)
  • William Clark (Republican)
  • Nick Klufas (Republican)

District 5:

  • Paul Anderson (Republican)
  • Ed Danko (Republican)
  • Michael McElroy (Write-In)
  • Pam Richardson (Republican)

School Board

District 3:

  • Derek Barrs
  • Paul Mucciolo

District 5:

  • Lauren Ramirez
  • Vincent Sullivan

Flagler Sheriff

  • Larry Jones (Democrat)
  • Rick Staly (Republican, incumbent)

Property Appraiser

  • James Gardner Jr. (Republican, incumbent)

Clerk of Court

  • Tom Bexley (Republican, incumbent)

Tax Collector

  • Shelly Edmonson (Republican)

Supervisor of Elections

  • Kaiti Lenhart (Republican, incumbent)

Palm Coast City Council

Mayor of Palm Coast:

  • David Alfin (incumbent)
  • Cornelia Downing Manfre
  • Peter Johnson
  • Alan Lowe
  • Mike Norris
  • Note: Scott McDonald is still listed as filed and active but has confirmed he no longer plans on continuing his campaign.

District 1:

  • Kathy Austrino
  • Shara Brodsky
  • Jamaris Dornan
  • Ty Miller
  • Jeffery Seib

District 3:

  • Dana ‘Mark’ Stancel
  • Ray Stevens
  • Andrew Werner

East Flagler Mosquito Control District

Seat 1:

  • Julius ‘Jules’ Kwiatkowski (incumbent)
  • Perry Mitrano

Seat 2:

  • Mike Martin (incumbent)
  • Janice Starks

Seat 3:

  • Lance Alred
  • Ralph Lightfoot (incumbent)

Dunes Community Development District

Seat 2:

  • Richard DeMatteis (incumbent)

Seat 3:

  • Bill White
  • Bill Baxter White

Grand Haven Community Development District

Seat 2:

  • Merrill Isern (incumbent)

Seat 4:

  • Steve Brazen

Town Center at Palm Coast Community Development District

Seat 4:

  • Frances Estrada (incumbent)

Written By

Chris Gollon is a Flagler County resident since 2004, as well as a staple of the local independent music scene and avid observer of Central Florida politics, arts, and recreation.




    June 14, 2024 at 9:21 am

    When will y’all interview and publish the candidates information?

    • Chris Gollon

      June 14, 2024 at 10:52 am


      AskFlagler will sending out candidate questionnaires once the field of candidates is finalized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You May Also Like

2024 Election

All five of Flagler County’s elected constitutional officers have won new four-year terms office, with none receiving an election opponent before the qualifying deadline...

2024 Election

With the passage of 12:00 pm on Friday, the qualifying period for candidates in Flagler County has concluded. The Supervisor of Elections Office immediately...

2024 Election

The race for Florida’s District 7 state Senate just got more interesting. The Republican primary election for the seat has now grown to three...

2024 Election

Rick Scott, the junior of the two Republicans representing Florida in the U.S. Senate, has pledged to protect Americans’ access to in vitro fertilization...


The third annual running of the Hang 8 Dog Surfing Extravaganza is almost here. The event is set to begin Saturday morning in Flagler...